Funding and countries

SMART does not fund projects. Funding is provided according to EUREKA Countries’ national programmes and procedures.

Please NOTE that there may be significant differences in national funding procedures. Make sure your project proposal fits within national public authorities' priorities and funding rules before you submit it to SMART.

National funding applications

National applications for funding should be submitted after SMART labelling (or earlier dependent on national procedures). Since the deadline for such submissions varies from country to country, each project partner (or each consortium’s national contact person) should get in touch with the relevant public authority’s contact person well in advance to know the deadline, the information to be gathered and/or the forms to be filled in.

Take into account the following

  • The SMART label is a prerequisite to obtain funding from national public authorities, but a SMART project label does not automatically ensure the funding of the project
  • Project partners must apply to their national public authority for funding
  • Each public authority will decide on a per partner basis and according to the relevant national funding rules whether to fund a project or not
  • Funding contracts are directly dealt with between each project partner and the relevant funding public authority
  • Each project partner is responsible for providing the relevant public authority with all information concerning their project according to the relevant funding rules
  • In addition to the FPP, SMART will provide the relevant public authorities with any available information necessary for making funding decisions.

National funding contacts

SMART provides contact details for various national funding contacts which support and coordinate the funding of SMART projects. You can find the contact details of the funding contact by clicking on your country in the list below. National funding information are also available.

Find your funding contact below:

Supporting Countries

Country Contact person E-mail Web
Austria Michael Walch
Marie Katharine Traunfellner
Michael.Walch@ffg.at
Marie-Katharine.Traunfellner@ffg.at
FFG - Austrian Research Promotion Agency

FFG - Austrian Research Promotion Agency
Belgium (Flanders region) Patricia Menten patricia.menten@vlaio.be
VLAIO – Agentschap Innoveren & Ondernemen

VLAIO – Agentschap Innoveren & Ondernemen
Canada Eric Holdrinet
Luc Tran
Eric.Holdrinet@cnrc-nrc.gc.ca
Luc.Tran@cnrc-nrc.gc.ca
CNRC - NRC - National Research Council Canada

CNRC - NRC - National Research Council Canada
Czech Republic Josef Martinec josef.martinec@msmt.cz
MEYS - Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport of the Czech Republic

MEYS - Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport of the Czech Republic
Finland Tom Warras tom.warras@businessfinland.fi
Business Finland

Business Finland
Germany Ruth Vogel petra-ruth.vogel@dlr.de
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e. V. (DLR)

Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e. V. (DLR)
Hungary Gergely Meszaros gergely.meszaros@nkfih.gov.hu
National Research, Development and Innovation Office

National Research, Development and Innovation Office
Ireland David Flood David.Flood@enterprise-ireland.com
EI - Enterprise Ireland

EI - Enterprise Ireland
Portugal Rita Silva
Polina Pereira
rita.silva@ani.pt
polina.pereira@ani.pt
ANI – Agência Nacional de Inovaçao, S.A.

ANI – Agência Nacional de Inovaçao, S.A.
Slovenia Urska Zupin urska.zupin@gov.si
Ministry of Economic Development and Technology

Ministry of Economic Development and Technology
South Korea Jason (Joosuk) Kang
Inyoung Yoo
Hyelim Kim
kangjs@kiat.or.kr
europe1@kiat.or.kr
limkim@kiat.or.kr
KIAT - Korea Institute for Advancement of Technology

KIAT - Korea Institute for Advancement of Technology
Spain Alicia García alicia.garcia@cdti.es
CDTI – Centro para el Desarrollo Tecnológico Industrial

CDTI – Centro para el Desarrollo Tecnológico Industrial
- Loan
Sweden Tero Stjernstoft
Ida Langborg
tero.stjernstoft@vinnova.se
ida.langborg@vinnova.se
Vinnova

Vinnova
Switzerland Colette John-Grant colette.john-grant@innosuisse.ch
Innosuisse - Swiss Innovation Agency

Innosuisse - Swiss Innovation Agency
Turkey Umut Ege umut.ege@tubitak.gov.tr
TUBITAK - The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey

TUBITAK - The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey

Interested Countries

Country Contact person E-mail Web

Interested countries could fund their companies within SMART calls case by case with their national programs.

For countries not mentioned above, you should contact the appropriate EUREKA National Project Coordinator.